Author Topic: Total newbie asks about power supply  (Read 2602 times)

Gordon

• View Profile
Total newbie asks about power supply
« on: January 06, 2015, 01:29:02 PM »
Yes, I am a total newbie to computer-building. But I think this is a great little build, and I am definitely going to go for it. Thanks for posting it. Question: Just for the hell of it, I went to pcpartpicker.com  and started inputting your parts list. Problem: within a few minutes the site informed me that the case's 90W power supply was insufficient for the CPU, motherboard, SSD, etc. I thought "whoa, what's happening here?" So what is happening? Obviously, you have built this system and tested it, and I trust your experience more than I trust the algorithm at pcpartpicker. Still, I'd like to know your reaction.

By the way, I plan to use ubuntu linux 12.04 LTS, which I have on a thumb drive. Does that make sense?

Thanks again for putting together this mini ITX build!

Ari Altman

• TBG Founder
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Total newbie asks about power supply
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2015, 07:05:12 AM »
Yes, I am a total newbie to computer-building. But I think this is a great little build, and I am definitely going to go for it. Thanks for posting it. Question: Just for the hell of it, I went to pcpartpicker.com  and started inputting your parts list. Problem: within a few minutes the site informed me that the case's 90W power supply was insufficient for the CPU, motherboard, SSD, etc. I thought "whoa, what's happening here?" So what is happening? Obviously, you have built this system and tested it, and I trust your experience more than I trust the algorithm at pcpartpicker. Still, I'd like to know your reaction.

By the way, I plan to use ubuntu linux 12.04 LTS, which I have on a thumb drive. Does that make sense?

Thanks again for putting together this mini ITX build!