Author Topic: Absolute Noob (First PC build)  (Read 989 times)

FingerlessTom

• View Profile
Absolute Noob (First PC build)
« on: September 19, 2016, 02:13:07 PM »
Hi there, I came to this forum for some help on my first ever build.
I followed the $2500 guide for the most part but made a change based off of a friends suggestion.
The build is as follows currently:

-Intel Core i7-6700k
-ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO ALPHA LGA 1151 (rather than the GIGABYTE one suggested in the 2.5k build post)
-EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC (x2)  *was debating on swapping out for FTW
-Corsair 2x16GB Vengeance LED DDR4-3200
-Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
-Cooler Master MasterCase Pro 5 (more than likely going to get this case, but I'm still looking)
-EVGA SuperNova P2 850W
-Corsair Hydro H100i v2 Liquid Cooler

Getting a dvd drive is still in question, but it's really not that important atm.
Here is where the noob will really shine to all you tech experts. My main question is really, is replacing the GIGABYTE mobo with the more expensive ASUS worth it? I've looked at reviews and both have really good things to say for the most part but I really don't know too much so I just listened to my friends suggestion.
Also I'm curious on the differnce between the 1070 SC and 1070 FTW, for the most part, it just seems like the FTW is much more custimizable when it comes to color coding, or going with a certain color theme, but adds an extra 20 bucks per card.

Any tips on building a PC are also gladly welcomed

ps. sorry if this post seems like I should've just done more research, I just wanted to post what I'm dealing with and see what people think

Ari Altman

• TBG Founder
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Absolute Noob (First PC build)
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2016, 02:50:40 PM »
Hi there, I came to this forum for some help on my first ever build.
I followed the $2500 guide for the most part but made a change based off of a friends suggestion.
The build is as follows currently: